Interview Questions

Levels of Testing

Software Testing Methodolog

(Continued from previous question...)

Levels of Testing

  1. Unit Testing.
    • Unit Testing is primarily carried out by the developers themselves.
    • Deals functional correctness and the completeness of individual program units.
    • White box testing methods are employed

  2. Integration Testing.
    • Integration Testing: Deals with testing when several program units are integrated.
    • Regression testing : Change of behavior due to modification or addition is called ‘Regression’. Used to bring changes from worst to least.
    • Incremental Integration Testing : Checks out for bugs which encounter when a module has been integrated to the existing.
    • Smoke Testing : It is the battery of test which checks the basic functionality of program. If fails then the program is not sent for further testing.

  3. System Testing.
    • System Testing - Deals with testing the whole program system for its intended purpose.
    • Recovery testing : System is forced to fail and is checked out how well the system recovers the failure.
    • Security Testing : Checks the capability of system to defend itself from hostile attack on programs and data.
    • Load & Stress Testing : The system is tested for max load and extreme stress points are figured out.
    • Performance Testing : Used to determine the processing speed.
    • Installation Testing : Installation & uninstallation is checked out in the target platform.

  4. Acceptance Testing.
    • UAT ensures that the project satisfies the customer requirements.
    • Alpha Testing : It is the test done by the client at the developer’s site.
    • Beta Testing : This is the test done by the end-users at the client’s site.
    • Long Term Testing : Checks out for faults occurrence in a long term usage of the product.
    • Compatibility Testing : Determines how well the product is substantial to product transition.

(Continued on next question...)

Other Interview Questions