background image
<< The Session Recorder During Recording | Canceling All Scripts in a Multi-script Session >>
<< The Session Recorder During Recording | Canceling All Scripts in a Multi-script Session >>

Canceling Scripts During Recording

Recording Sessions
7-10
The activity that the window displays varies, depending on your recording method.
With API recording, the window displays the number of API calls and bytes sent
from your computer.
With network recording, the window displays the number of IP packets and the
bytes in these packets. However, the information may not be from your
computer only. For example, if you are recording the activities of any client, in
the Client list, the Session Recorder window reports the activity of all clients on
the network, not just the activity of your computer.
With proxy recording, the window displays the number of IP packets and the
bytes in these packets.
Only the annotations window displays with custom recording.
The Session Recorder Icon
During recording, the icon associated with the Session Recorder window is
displayed on the taskbar. The icon blinks whenever Robot is capturing a request or
response. This icon serves as a visual cue that Robot is recording, even when the
Session Recorder window is minimized.
Canceling Scripts During Recording
During session recording, you can cancel script generation. After you cancel them,
the scripts are deleted.
This feature is useful if you make errors while recording a session or if you want to
exclude nonessential or preliminary activity (such as logging in or navigating to the
Web site that you want to test). For example, if you split a script at the point where
you want to send a query, you can ignore the logon password and other preliminary
requests you needed to make to get to the query's starting point.
Canceling a Script in a Single-Script Session
If you have not split the session into multiple scripts, you can cancel both the script
and the session, and then stop recording as follows:
1. During recording, click the Stop button on the Session Record floating toolbar.
2. In the Stop Recording dialog box, click Ignore just-recorded information.
3. Click OK in the Stop Recording dialog box.
4. Click OK to delete the session.